Panel Members

There are three members on the Independent Panel that has been appointed to conduct the Examination in Public into the Belfast City Airport Planning Agreement and report on its findings.  Mr Billy Walker will chair the Panel and the members are Ms Corinne Swain and Mr Sidney McDowell.

Billy Walker CBE
Mr Billy Walker is a retired senior NI civil servant. He is a Chartered Structural Engineer by profession and has held numerous senior professional and technical posts - at the time of his retirement he was the Chief Executive of Construction Service, an Agency within the Department of Finance and Personnel. He is a Past Chairman of the NI Branch of the Institution of Structural Engineers and of the NI Region of the Concrete Society and is still actively involved in these bodies both at local and national level.

Corinne Swain OBE
Corinne Swain is a Town Planner by profession - She has spent most of her career in planning consultancy, with experience in local government and, in the 1970s, the British Airports Authority. Since 1999 she has combined part-time consultancy with public appointments and has chaired a number of Examinations in Public into regional spatial strategies in England.

Sidney McDowell CBE
Following a career as a senior public service trade union official, he was Chairman of the Northern Ireland Housing Executive and the Local Government Staff Commission.  He is currently a Civil Service Commissioner and is actively involved in the voluntary and community sector.

The Panel Secretary is Mr David Stewart.

Skip Navigation Spacer